Archived—Recipient Bios

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2000 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

Kathryn Forsythe-Lantz

School: Waterloo-Oxford District Secondary School
RR 2
Baden, Ontario  N0B 1G0

Principal: Brian Rainville
School Telephone: 519-634-5441
School Fax: 519-634-5469
School Website: wodss.wrdsb.edu.on.ca
Grades/Subjects Taught: Life skills, work experience

Teaching Approach:

  • There is dignity in risk.
  • See past the limitations of individuals. Bring out their best and allow them to dream and realize a productive future.
  • Involve developmentally challenged students in work experience as an essential part of their educational program. The goal for these students is to be able to live on their own, work competitively and participate in leisure and community activities, as independently as possible.

Outstanding Achievements:

Developed and maintains an extensive school-to-work program. A wide network of prospective employers allows careful matching of student abilities to job requirements. Many students placed this way have continued with summer or full-time employment. Mrs. Forsythe-Lantz also finds grants and job creation program funding for these placements.

Initiated a peer tutoring program at Waterloo-Oxford as a credit course for regular stream students. Gives special needs students the opportunity to attend physical education, woodworking, music and art classes with a peer tutor to assist them. Both finish the course with a strong sense of responsibility, commitment and accomplishment.

Organizes activities for the senior elementary and secondary school life skills and developmental education students and staff. Activities such as sports, music and arts appreciation provide students with opportunities to begin making the transition from elementary to secondary school, to develop, with support, social interactions with a peer group and to experience a variety of community settings and the behavioural expectations that go with them.

Mrs. Forsythe-Lantz is currently President of the Ontario Association for Developmental Education. Through this group she is an effective advocate for her students both provincially and locally.

Rave Reviews:

"She has genuine concern for her students. I am convinced that it is this compassion which motivates her students to work so diligently for her." Fellow teacher

"Her positive, dedicated contribution has touched these students and the community they live in. Her impact will far outlast her teaching career!" Superintendent of instruction

Archivé — Biographies des lauréats

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année: 2000 – Province: Ontario

Lauréats de certificat d'excellence

Kathryn Forsythe-Lantz

École: Waterloo-Oxford District Secondary School
RR 2
Baden, Ontario  N0B 1G0

Directeur: Brian Rainville
Téléphone de l'école: 519-634-5441
Télécopieur de l'école: 519-634-5469
Site Web de l'école: wodss.wrdsb.edu.on.ca
Années / Matières enseignées: Apprentissage de l'autonomie, stages en milieu de travail

Méthode d'enseignement:

  • Apprendre aux élèves qu'il est bon de prendre des risques.
  • Voir au-delà des limites des élèves, faire ressortir leurs talents et les aider à se bâtir un avenir productif.
  • Permettre aux élèves qui accusent un retard de développement d'acquérir de l'expérience de travail dans le cadre de leur programme scolaire. Leur objectif est d'atteindre le plus d'autonomie possible dans leur vie, dans le contexte compétitif du travail et au chapitre de leur participation à des loisirs et à des activités communautaires.

Réalisations exceptionnelles:

A créé et gère un programme intégré de stages. Un vaste réseau d'employeurs éventuels permet d'offrir aux élèves des stages adaptés à leurs talents particuliers. De nombreux élèves ont décroché des emplois d'été ou des emplois permanents grâce au programme. Madame Forsythe-Lantz sollicite aussi des subventions et des fonds de création d'emploi pour financer les stages.

A créé un programme de tutorat par les pairs qui s'ajoute aux cours à unités réguliers offerts par l'école. Le programme permet aux élèves ayant des besoins particuliers de suivre des cours d'éducation physique, d'ébénisterie, de musique et d'art avec l'aide d'un tuteur. À la fin des cours, les élèves ont acquis un sens prononcé des responsabilités, de l'engagement et du travail bien fait.

Organise des activités à l'intention des élèves et des enseignants des cours d'apprentissage de l'autonomie et d'éducation pour le développement dans les écoles primaires de deuxième cycle et les écoles secondaires. Les sports, la musique et les séances d'appréciation des arts comptent parmi les activités qui aident les jeunes élèves à faire la transition entre le primaire et le secondaire, à se mêler à un groupe de pairs avec le soutien approprié, et à évoluer dans différents milieux tout en apprenant comment s'y comporter.

Madame Forsythe-Lantz est présidente de la Ontario Association for Developmental Education. Elle peut ainsi défendre efficacement les intérêts de ses élèves aux paliers provincial et local.

Commentaires élogieux:

« Le bien-être de ses élèves lui tient véritablement à coeur. Je suis convaincu que c'est cette empathie qui incite les élèves à travailler si fort pour elle. » Un collègue

« Son dévouement et son attitude positive ont touché les élèves et leur entourage. Son influence continuera à se faire sentir longtemps après sa retraite! » Le surintendant des écoles