Archived—Recipient Bios

    Archived Information

    Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

    Year: 2001 – Province: Saskatchewan

    Certificate of Achievement Recipients

    Kevin Hrycay

    School: Esterhazy High School
    555 Arcola Street
    Esterhazy, Saskatchewan  S0A 0Y0

    Principal: Don Espeseth
    School Telephone: 306-745-6618
    School Fax: 306-745-3590
    School Website: www.sasked.gov.sk.ca/~ehs
    Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 6 to 12, band, computer, choir

    Teaching Approach:

    The power of music should be shared with every child in the school.

    Outstanding Achievements:

    Revitalized music program at Esterhazy High School.

    • After two years, student participation in music program doubled and a second teacher was added.
    • In 2000-2001 school year, thanks to Mr. Hrycay's high standards of music excellence and dedication of the students, the music program captured all awards at local music festival and the Senior Concert Band won gold at the National Music Festival (Musicfest). Esterhazy was the only rural Saskatchewan school invited to compete at Musicfest.
    • Other honours include three As from the Regina Optimist Festival, and invitations to perform for the Royal Bank Cup hockey tournament and to give the Vice Regal Salute for the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan.

    Incorporates music technology into the program and classroom. Music theory is reinforced through use of computers: for example, MIDI technology allows students to compose, print and perform their own original pieces.

    Integrates students of all abilities into music program and ensembles. Encourages students with variety of moderate to severe learning disabilities to play instruments in the bands; taught a blind student at a former school to play clarinet.

    Students perform in numerous concerts in the area, gaining practice in both singing and teamwork and experience in the importance of giving back to the community through volunteering. This community student choir provided a bridge for various denominations to hold an ecumenical Easter service in town.

    Rave Reviews:

    There is a strong bond between the Esterhazy High School music students and their music director Kevin Hrycay. That, no doubt, is the magic ingredient that has made this music program into an exceptional school program. Editor of local paper

    Mr. Hrycay taught us to believe in ourselves as he showed through patience and determination that he believed in us. Student

Archivé — Biographies des lauréats

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année: 2001 – Province: Saskatchewan

Lauréats de certificat de réussite

Kevin Hrycay

École: Esterhazy High School
555 Arcola Street
Esterhazy, Saskatchewan  S0A 0Y0

Directeur: Don Espeseth
Téléphone de l'école: 306-745-6618
Télécopieur de l'école: 306-745-3590
Site Web de l'école: www.sasked.gov.sk.ca/~ehs
Années / Matières enseignées: Harmonie, chant choral et informatique, de la 6e à la 12e année

Méthode d'enseignement:

Tous les enfants de l'école devraient pouvoir goûter au pouvoir de la musique.

Réalisations exceptionnelles:

A redonné vie au programme de musique de l'école.

  • Après deux ans, la participation des élèves aux programme de musique a doublé et il a fallu ajouter un deuxième enseignant.
  • En 2000-2001, grâce aux normes d'excellence de M. Hrycay en musique et à la détermination des élèves, le programme de musique a remporté tous les prix du festival local de musique et, et la Senior Concert Band a remporté la médaille d'or au National Music Festival (MusicFest). Esterhazy a été la seule école d'une région rurale de la Saskatchewan à être invitée à se produire au MusicFest.
  • L'école a obtenu trois « A » au Regina Optimist Festival; elle a été invitée à jouer au tournoi de hockey de la Coupe Banque Royale, et à présenter le salut royal au lieutenant-gouverneur de la Saskatchewan.

Intègre les aspects technologiques de la musique au programme d'études et dans la classe. L'enseignement de la théorie musicale est renforcé par l'emploi d'ordinateurs : ainsi, le programme MIDI permet aux élèves de composer, d'imprimer et d'interpréter leur propre musique.

Fait participer tous les élèves, peu importe leurs aptitudes, au programme de musique et aux ensembles musicaux. Encourage les élèves présentant des troubles modérés ou graves de l'apprentissage à jouer d'un instrument dans un orchestre; a enseigné à un élève aveugle d'une autre école à jouer de la clarinette.

Les élèves se produisent lors de nombreux concerts dans la région; ils prennent de l'expérience en chant et en travail d'équipe, et ils apprennent à montrer leur reconnaissance à la collectivité en faisant du bénévolat. La chorale d'élèves a fourni l'occasion de tenir une cérémonie pascale oecuménique à Esterhazy.

Commentaires élogieux:

« Il existe des liens très forts entre les élèves du programme de musique de l'école Esterhazy et leur directeur musical, Kevin Hrycay. C'est sans doute l'ingrédient secret qui rend le programme de musique tellement exceptionnel. » Le rédacteur en chef d'un journal local

« Monsieur Hrycay nous a enseigné à croire en nous-mêmes et, par sa patience et sa détermination, il nous a montré qu'il croyait en nous. » Un élève