Archived—Jessica Webb

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2006 – Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: St. Paul's Junior High
240 Newfoundland Drive
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
A1A 3R9

Principal: Thomas Bartlett
School Telephone: 709-753-6630
School Fax: 709-753-4974
School Website: www.k12.nf.ca/stpj
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grades 7-9, Late French Immersion, Science, Health, Religion

Teaching Approach:

  • Makes extensive use of information and communications technology in the classroom.
  • Show proficiency in using technology as a means to communicate information for tests, assignments, upcoming activities or other news items.
  • Cross-curricular approach to teaching methods.
  • Classroom is enhanced by the presence of visual stimuli and student work.
  • Provides activities that appeal to a wide variety of learning styles (written, visual, kinesthetic)

Outstanding Achievements:

  • Ms. Webb has successfully incorporated the use of WebCT into her classroom. By using this online course management system, she has introduced technology to the learning environment of her students. In conjunction with classroom learning, the webCT program allows student to post ideas, discuss key topics, link to related web pages and directly communicate with their teacher outside of class.
  • Ms. Webb completed a proposal for the Canadian Society for Studies in Education related to her extensive use of technology in the classroom. As a French Immersion teacher, Ms. Webb uses the internet not only to assist her students to learn language, but also to assist fellow teachers in her school and her district. Staff meetings, district professional development sessions, profession journals and national conferences have all been exposed to Ms. Webb's teaching methods.
  • Ms. Webb successfully developed and circulated a Science Support Site for Junior High teachers. She is working in conjunction with the Newfoundland and Labrador's Teacher's Association to discuss integrating the site into their proposed 'Science Room.'
  • Ninety per cent of Ms. Webb's students use the webCT site she created once a week. Her classes tend to score well above average in testing from the school, district, and provincial levels. Students in her class demonstrate the ability to seamlessly incorporate technology into their everyday learning.

Rave Reviews:

"I have been impressed by how Jessica is able to actively involve and motivate students. Her approach to teaching enables her to encourage her students to be risk takers. By using a multitude of instructional strategies that address the varied learning styles and intelligences of her students, she is able to bring out their very best." - Principal, St. Paul's Junior High School

"Ms. Webb exhibits integrity in the classroom as she works with her students and her colleagues. Her attention to detail in the presentation of her lesson plans couples with her innate ability to communicate difficult scientific concepts creatively to her students is par excellence." - Colleague, St. Paul's Junior High School

"Jessica Webb has consistently demonstrated the ability to connect with her students. She meets with them individually and at times in small groups to discuss issues that may be interfering with their learning. Her students know that she genuinely cares about them and they can approach her with any issue. In turn, they are motivated to learn and are open to the innovative methodologies that she utilizes in the classroom setting." - Guidance Counsellor

Archivé — Jessica Webb

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2006 – Province : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : St. Paul's Junior High
240, promenade Newfoundland
St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
A1A 3R9

Directeur : Thomas Bartlett
Téléphone de l'école : 709-753-6630
Télécopieur de l'école : 709-753-4974
Site Web de l'école : www.k12.nf.ca/stpj
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : De la 7e à la 9e année, immersion tardive en français, sciences, santé, religion

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Mme Webb fait beaucoup appel aux technologies de l'information et des communications dans la salle de classe.
  • Elle sait bien se servir des technologies pour communiquer de l'information concernant les tests, les devoirs, les activités futures et les autres initiatives nouvelles.
  • Elle utilise des méthodes d'enseignement interdisciplinaire.
  • La salle de cours est agrémentée par des éléments visuels stimulants et les travaux des élèves.
  • Elle offre des activités qui font appel à une grande variété de styles d'apprentissage (écrit, visuel, kinesthésique).

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • Mme Webb a réussi à intégrer l'utilisation du programme WebCT dans ses cours. En utilisant ce système de gestion de cours en ligne, elle a intégré la technologie au milieu d'apprentissage de ses élèves. De concert avec l'apprentissage traditionnel, le programme WebCT permet à l'élève de présenter des idées, de discuter de sujets importants, de suivre des liens vers des sites Web connexes et de communiquer directement avec le professeur en dehors de la salle de cours.
  • Mme Webb a formulé une proposition pour la Société canadienne pour l'étude de l'éducation ayant trait à sa grande utilisation des technologies en classe. En tant qu'enseignante de cours d'immersion en français, Mme Webb utilise Internet non seulement pour aider ses élèves à apprendre une langue mais aussi pour aider ses collègues enseignants dans son école et dans son district. Les méthodes d'enseignement de Mme Webb ont été exposées dans le cadre de réunions du personnel, de séances de perfectionnement professionnel de district, de revues professionnelles et de conférences nationales.
  • Mme Webb a réussi à mettre au point et à faire connaître un site de soutien des sciences pour les enseignants de premier cycle de l'école secondaire. En outre, elle examine avec la Newfoundland and Labrador's Teacher's Association la possibilité d'intégrer le site dans la " salle des sciences " proposée par l'association.
  • Quatre-vingt-dix pour cent des élèves de Mme Webb visite une fois par semaine le site WebCT qu'elle a créé. Ses élèves ont tendance à obtenir des notes bien au-dessus de la moyenne aux examens, à l'échelle de l'école, du district, et de la province. Les élèves de sa classe sont capables d'incorporer sans problème la technologie dans leur apprentissage quotidien.

Commentaires élogieux :

« J'ai été impressionné par la façon dont Jessica est capable de faire participer et de motiver les élèves. Sa façon d'enseigner encourage ses élèves à prendre des risques. En ayant recours à une multitude de stratégies éducatives qui touchent divers styles d'apprentissage et qui font appel à l'intelligence, elle permet à ses élèves d'exploiter leur plein potentiel. " » - Directeur, St. Paul's Junior High School

« Mme Webb fait preuve d'intégrité dans la salle de cours lorsqu'elle travaille avec ses élèves et ses collègues. L'attention qu'elle porte aux détails dans sa présentation de plans de leçons, ainsi que sa capacité innée de communiquer de façon créative à ses élèves des concepts scientifiques difficiles, sont excellentes. » - Collègue, St. Paul's Junior High School

« Jessica Webb a toujours démontré qu'elle était capable d'établir des liens avec ses élèves. Elle les rencontre individuellement et parfois en petits groupes, pour discuter de questions qui peuvent nuire à leur apprentissage. Ses élèves savent qu'elle s'intéresse vraiment à eux et qu'ils peuvent la consulter à propos de n'importe quel sujet. De leur côté, ils sont intéressés à apprendre et ils sont ouverts aux méthodes novatrices qu'elle utilise en classe. » - Conseiller en orientation