Archived—David Case

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2006 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: McNally High School
8440-105 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta
T6A 1B6

Principal: George Rice
School Telephone: 780-469-0442
School Fax: 780-465-5958
School Website: www.mcnallyhigh.com
Grades/Subjects Taught: Grade 10-12, Biology, Science

Teaching Approach:

  • Motivates students to achieve the best of their ability, no matter their learning style.
  • Emphasizes technology as a learning and communication tool.
  • Has a high level of student accountability and responsibility for their work.
  • Believes in inter-department and intra-department sharing of strategies to improve student learning.
  • Regularly communicates constructive feedback to students and parents.
  • Prints out notes for students ahead of time so that more time is devoted to further explanation and development of concepts.
  • Employs as many learning modalities as possible in a lesson.
  • Promotes hands on learning, including role-playing, and connects concepts to everyday experiences.
  • Instills the critical skills of setting goals and managing time effectively.

Outstanding Achievements:

  • Mr. Case's class web page allows students to obtain notes, classroom assignments, and interact with their teacher through a question and answer chat component. This allows students to get assistance from their teacher while working on assignments at home. Mr. Case has also created an email process that enables him to communicate assignments and test results on an ongoing basis to his students and their parents.
  • At the beginning of all his courses, Mr. Case has his students set coals for the course, communicating what mark they want to get, why they want to get it, and how they will go about getting it. These goals are reviewed after every mark received by a student so that they can assess where they stand.
  • Mr. Case has had a number of his students participate in the University of Alberta's Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science and Technology program, and the Heritage Youth Research Scholarship program.
  • Mr. Case has been heavily involved in the school's extracurricular program, coaching football, being a teacher sponsor of the volleyball team, and has organized and conducted a student hiking club that ended with a trip to Nepal and Mount Everest.
  • He organizes and prepares students for the Nation Biology Competition for which McNally students have won National Biology Scholar with distinction awards and came 12th place out of 374 schools in 2004.
  • Mr. Case, in collaboration with three other teachers, initiated a McNally Summer School program for which he is the Principal.
  • He is an examiner with the International Baccalaureate Organization and an exam marker for students around the world. He has been a member of many provincial committees with regards to the provincial diploma exams, as well as the program to develop School achievement Indicators Program for the federal government. As a textbook proofer, his job is to ensure that the texts are student and teacher friendly and that they reflect the province's curriculum and standards.
  • As a Teacher Leader with the Telus Learning Connection, Mr. Case prepared multiple lesson and unit plans for teachers that implement multimedia content and the integration of Flash animation for the teaching of biological concepts.

Rave Reviews:

"He is an inspiration to us all and a very good role model, not only for myself but other students in the school." - Student

"He is very conscientious about the students he teaches, he knows them, follows up on the attendance, and teaches the students in his class rather than simply teaching a subject." - Principal, McNally High School

"David Case is a brilliant mentor and a great example of what it takes to be a first-rate educator. I would like nothing more than to be one of his colleagues so I may continue to learn from his example and dedication to his career." - Student teacher mentored by Mr. Case

Archivé — David Case

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2006 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : École secondaire McNally
8440 105 Avenue
Edmonton
(Alberta)
T6A 1B6

Directeur : George Rice
Téléphone de l'école : 780-469-0442
Télécopieur de l'école : 780-465-5958
Site Web de l'école : www.mcnallyhigh.com
Année(s)/Matière(s) enseignée(s) : 10e-12e années, biologie, sciences

Méthode d'enseignement :

  • Motive les élèves à développer au mieux leurs capacités, quel que soit leur style d'apprentissage.
  • Souligne l'importance de la technologie à titre d'outil d'apprentissage et de communication.
  • Inspire à ses élèves un grand sentiment d'imputabilité et de responsabilité à l'égard de leur travail.
  • Est un partisan du partage, entre départements et au sein d'un même département, de stratégies visant à améliorer l'apprentissage chez les élèves.
  • Communique régulièrement des commentaires constructifs aux élèves et aux parents.
  • Imprime à l'avance des notes pour les élèves, afin de consacrer plus de temps à expliquer et à développer des concepts.
  • Autant que possible, diversifie les méthodes d'enseignement dans ses leçons.
  • Favorise l'apprentissage pratique, y compris les jeux de rôles, et relie les concepts à la vie quotidienne.
  • Fait acquérir à ses élèves deux qualités indispensables : l'art de se fixer des objectifs et de gérer efficacement le temps.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • La page Web consacrée à la classe de M. Case transmet aux élèves des notes et des devoirs de classe et permet de communiquer avec le professeur grâce à un clavardage axé sur les questions et réponses. Les élèves reçoivent ainsi à domicile de l'aide pour leurs devoirs. M. Case utilise aussi le courriel pour distribuer régulièrement des devoirs et des résultats de tests à ses élèves et à leurs parents.
  • Au début de chaque cours, il invite ses élèves à se fixer des objectifs pour le cours, à indiquer la note qu'ils souhaitent obtenir et comment ils comptent s'y prendre pour cela. Ces objectifs sont examinés après chaque note, afin que l'élève puisse évaluer où il en est dans son cheminement.
  • M. Case a fait participer plusieurs de ses élèves au programme Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science and Technology de l'University of Alberta, ainsi qu'au programme Heritage Youth Research Scholarship.
  • Il participe étroitement aux activités parascolaires de l'école, est entraîneur de football et professeur responsable de l'équipe de volleyball; il a aussi organisé parmi les élèves un club de randonnée pédestre qui s'est terminé par un voyage au Népal et au mont Everest.
  • Il participe à l'organisation du concours national de biologie et prépare ses élèves en conséquence, de sorte que ceux de l'école McNally ont obtenu les prix National Biology Scholar avec distinction et ont décroché la 12e place sur 374 écoles inscrites en 2004.
  • En collaboration avec trois autres professeurs, il a lancé à l'école un programme de cours d'été dont il est le directeur.
  • Il est examinateur auprès de l'Organisation du Baccalauréat International et correcteur d'examen pour des élèves du monde entier. Il fait partie de multiples comités provinciaux chargés des examens menant à un diplôme, ainsi que du Programme d'indicateurs du rendement scolaire pour le gouvernement fédéral. À titre de correcteur de manuels, il doit veiller à ce que les textes de ceux-ci soient adaptés aux élèves et aux professeurs tout en étant conformes au programme scolaire et aux normes de la province.
  • En qualité d'enseignant ressource auprès de Telus Learning Connection, il a préparé, pour des professeurs, de multiples plans de leçon et d'unité qui appliquent un contenu multimédia et intègrent une animation Flash à l'enseignement de concepts biologiques.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Il est une source d'inspiration pour nous tous et un très bon modèle, pas seulement pour moi, mais aussi pour d'autres élèves de l'école. » - Un élève

« Il est très consciencieux auprès de ses élèves; il les connaît, contrôle leur présence aux cours et leur donne un enseignement humain et pas seulement intellectuel. » - Le directeur de l'école McNally

« David Case est un brillant mentor et un excellent exemple d'éducateur de premier ordre. Je suis ravi de compter parmi ses collègues afin de continuer à suivre son exemple et son dévouement à sa carrière. » - Un professeur stagiaire encadré par M. Case