Archived—Thomas St. Amand

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: St. Christopher Catholic Secondary School
1001 The Rapids Parkway
Sarnia, Ontario
N7S 6K2

Principal: Deborah Crawford
School Telephone: 519-541-1811
School Fax: 519-541-1814
School Email: ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
School Website: www.stchris.ca
Subjects and Grades Taught: English in Grades 9 to 12

Teaching Approach

  • Show, don't tell is a good guiding principle both for writing and for teaching students to write.
  • Describes his mandate as English teacher as teaching "the love of language, the joy of literature, and the tragedy of grammar."

Outstanding Achievements

  • Uses hands-on learning in English class, to promote student interest. One lesson involving a bicycle pump and a tire, for instance, focused on the importance of giving very clear and specific instructions.
  • One of the first teachers at the school to embrace the opportunities offered through teaching e-learning courses. Mr. St. Amand grasped that this new tool would be particularly useful for a school board with only three secondary schools because it would enhance accessibility of education.

Rave Reviews

"I believe that one of Mr. St. Amand's greatest attributes is the mutual respect that he has with the students within the school. This mutual respect has allowed him to be an innovator and experiment with his teaching practices with students always being willing participants." Superintendent

"I can't think of a subject more onerous to most high school students than English composition, and Tom handled even that with aplomb. He didn't simply teach the fundamentals; he tried to explain and integrate the lessons to the world we experienced around them." Former student

Archivé — Thomas St. Amand

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : St. Christopher Catholic Secondary School
1001, promeande The Rapids
Sarnia (Ontario)
N7S 6K2

Directrice de l'école : Deborah Crawford
Téléphone de l'école : 519-541-1811
Télécopieur de l'école : 519-541-1814
Courriel de l'école : ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.stchris.ca
Années et matières : Anglais de la 9e à la 12e année

Méthode d'enseignement

  • Prêcher par l'exemple, c'est un bon principe d'enseignement de la rédaction aux élèves.
  • Il décrit ainsi son mandat de professeur d'anglais : "l'enseignement de l'amour de la langue, la joie de la littérature et la tragédie de la grammaire".

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il mène des activités pratiques en cours d'anglais afin de susciter l'intérêt des élèves. Par exemple, il s'est servi une fois d'une pompe et d'un pneu de vélo pour démontrer l'importance de donner des instructions très claires et précises.
  • Il était l'un des premiers professeurs de l'École qui ait profité des avantages de l'apprentissage en ligne. M. St. Amand a compris que ce nouvel instrument serait particulièrement utile dans un district scolaire qui ne compte que trois écoles secondaires, parce qu'il améliorerait l'accès à l'éducation.

Commentaires élogieux

"Je crois que l'une des plus grande qualités de M. St. Amand est le respect mutuel qu'il développe avec ses élèves à l'École. Ce respect mutuel lui a permis d'enseigner d'une façon novatrice et expérimentale à laquelle les élèves sont toujours prêts à participer." Surintendant

"Je ne peux pas penser à une matière que les élèves de secondaire détestent plus que la rédaction anglaise. Tom a entièrement résolu ce problème. Il ne s'est pas contenté d'enseigner les fondements requis, il s'est efforcé d'expliquer et d'intégrer les leçons du monde qui les entoure." Ancien élève