Archived—Rose Davenport

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Hillcrest Public School
609 Rooks Avenue
Estevan, Saskatchewan
S4A 0B4

Principal: Justin Giesbrecht
School Telephone: 306-634-4931
School Fax: 306-634-1166
School Email: ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
School Website: www.cornerstonesd.ca/~hillcrest
Subjects and Grades Taught: Grade 1

Teaching Approach

  • The best way for children to learn is to have fun, so have fun in the classroom!
  • Have parents regularly visit the class (average two to five every day) to hear their children read and host a celebration for all parents to attend with their children at the end of each year.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Engaged older students to help with projects such as Reading Buddies and Measurement Olympics. These give older students a great opportunity to work with younger students and give the Grade 1 students good examples to look up to.
  • In a previous assignment in another province, Mrs. Davenport created two units of traditional Aboriginal studies that are still being used. One was a unit on fish that included classroom learning as well as working with elders outside the classroom. The second was on shelter.

Rave Reviews

"My daughters learned so quickly and love to read and write their own stories. I give a lot of that credit to Mrs. Davenport. She has a wonderful way of instilling in her students that they are writers." Parent

"As a teacher she never left parents frustrated with lack of communication and often had too many volunteers because of the enjoyment found working with her. One of the best times was reading with the class." Parent

Archivé — Rose Davenport

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Hillcrest Public School
609, avenue Rooks
Estevan (Saskatchewan)
S4A 0B4

Directeur de l'école : Justin Giesbrecht
Téléphone de l'école : 306-634-4931
Télécopieur de l'école : 306-634-1166
Courriel de l'école : ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.cornerstonesd.ca/~hillcrest
Années et matières : 1ère année

Méthode d'enseignement

  • La meilleure façon d'apprendre, pour les enfants, c'est de s'amuser, alors amusez vous en classe!
  • Inviter les parents à visiter la classe régulièrement (en moyenne de deux à cinq parents par jour) pour qu'ils entendent leurs enfants lire. Organiser une fête pour tous les parents et les enfants à la fin de l'année.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a incité des élèves plus âgés à aider à des projets tels que Reading Buddies (copains-copines de lecture) et Measurement Olympics (olympiades des mesures). Cela donne aux élèves plus âgés l'occasion de travailler avec les plus jeunes et de leur donner le bon exemple.
  • Dans le cadre d'un autre poste qu'elle a tenu dans une autre province, Madame Davenport a créé deux unités d'études autochtones, que l'on utilise encore aujourd'hui. La première porte sur les poissons et se compose d'apprentissage en classe et de travail avec des aînés en dehors de la classe. La deuxième porte sur l'abri.

Commentaires élogieux

"Mes filles ont appris tellement vite; elles adorent lire et écrire leurs propres histoires. Je suis sûre que c'est en grande partie grâce à Madame Davenport. Elle a une façon merveilleuse de persuader ses élèves que ce sont des écrivains." Parent

"C'est une enseignante qui n'a jamais privé les parents de communication, et souvent elle avait trop de parents bénévoles, parce que c'était un tel plaisir de travailler avec elle. La lecture avec la classe faisait partie des meilleurs moments." Parent