Archived—Rob Dougherty

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2009 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Rob Dougherty

Tom Baines School
250 Edgepark Boulevard N.W.
Calgary AB T3A 3S2

Principal: Rick Petrowich
School Tel.: 403-777-7190
School Fax: 403-777-7191
School Email: tombaines@cbe.ab.ca
School Website: www.cbe.ab.ca/b690

Subjects and Grades Taught: Drama, performing arts and Explorations in Film in grades 7, 8 and 9

Rob Dougherty loves drama, film and performing. He also loves Star Wars, film clubs, charity fundraising and mentoring university student teachers. A lifelong enthusiast, and a teacher since 1990, he knows there is no need for students, or anyone, to feel embarrassed because they are passionate about art and culture, science fiction or volunteering. He also works overtime to make sure students who are attracted to these activities have no doubt they are doing something worthwhile and valuable.

Teaching Approach

"Equality within" is Mr. Dougherty's motto. He values everyone for their creative talents, aptitudes and attitudes, and he believes all students are equal; every single one deserves his best efforts, along with access to all the programs the school has to offer. He uses a "we" rather than an "I" approach in the classroom and encourages student leadership and collaborative problem solving during student-led theatre and film productions.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Mr. Dougherty pioneered the integration of information and communications technology into junior high performing arts courses in Calgary, including the use of film in drama classes, employing digital recording and editing techniques. The curricula he developed are now available province-wide, and teachers from the local high school report that students from Tom Baines School arrive with a wide and astonishing array of technical abilities.
  • Under Mr. Dougherty's direction, students created a moving Remembrance Day gathering for the school based on the lives of Canadian soldiers who fell in the Afghanistan campaign. The students contacted friends and family members of the soldiers and then created a multimedia presentation based on what they had learned.
  • Each year, Mr. Dougherty leads the planning and performance of a student musical production involving hundreds of students, staff and community volunteers.
  • He devised a "boot camp" for Grade 9 students—a special environment in which they can become comfortable singing, acting and dancing in front of their peers. The students record their experiences in journals and produce items such as collages in answer to creative questions Mr. Dougherty puts to them.
  • Mr. Dougherty created a Star Wars fan club, which eventually became one the school's most popular clubs. In addition to learning about filmmaking, story telling and acting, club members collect substantial sums for charity, and organize contests with the help of local businesses to encourage student creativity.

Rave Reviews

"Through his classes and many productions and clubs that he runs, he has made kids feel like they belong, thus improving their confidence and self-esteem." Former student

"He did cause some grey hair for the principal. How could we accommodate the interest [in Mr. Dougherty's classes]? We often had to split full-year classes into semesters to allow greater participation. There was never a shortage of ideas and new directions, but, fortunately, he always had patience with me as I scrambled to expand the budget." Former principal

Archivé — Rob Dougherty

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2009 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat de certificat d'excellence

Rob Dougherty

Tom Baines School
250, boulevard Edgepark Nord-Ouest
Calgary (Alberta)  T3A 3S2

Directeur : Rick Petrowich
Téléphone de l'école : 403-777-7190
Télécopieur de l'école : 403-777-7191
Courriel de l'école : tombaines@cbe.ab.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.cbe.ab.ca/b690 (en anglais seulement)

Années et matières : Les 7e, 8e et 9e années, le théâtre, l'art dramatique et les explorations du cinéma

Rob Dougherty aime l'art dramatique, les films et le spectacle. Il aime également Star Wars, les ciné-clubs, les collectes de fonds pour des œuvres de bienfaisance et le mentorat des étudiants de l'université. Passionné à vie et enseignant depuis 1990, il sait que ni les élèves ni personne d'autre ne doivent avoir honte d'être passionnés par les arts et la culture, la science-fiction ou les activités à vocation sociale dans leur communauté. Il fait également des heures supplémentaires pour s'assurer que tout élève attiré par ces activités ne doute pas qu'il réalise quelque chose d'utile et qui en vaut la peine.

Méthode d'enseignement

« L'égalité intériorisée » est la devise de M. Dougherty. Il apprécie tout le monde pour leurs talents, aptitudes et attitudes en matière de créativité. Il croit que tous les élèves sont égaux; chacun mérite qu'il lui donne tous ses efforts ainsi que d'avoir un accès à tous les programmes offerts par l'école. Il utilise une approche fondée sur le « nous » plutôt que sur le « je » en classe et encourage le leadership et la résolution conjointe de problème auprès des élèves lors des productions théâtrales et cinématographiques des élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • M. Dougherty a fait des travaux de pionnier pour l'intégration de la technologie de l'information et des communications dans des cours d'arts et spectacle avancés de niveau de premier cycle de l'enseignement secondaire à Calgary, y compris l'utilisation de film dans les cours d'art dramatique, grâce aux techniques d'enregistrement et d'édition numériques. Les programmes qu'il a créés sont maintenant utilisés à l'échelle de la province. Des enseignants de l'école secondaire locale signalent que des élèves de l'école Tom Baines commencent l'année avec un éventail vaste et étonnant d'habiletés techniques.
  • Sous la direction de M. Dougherty, les élèves ont créé un rassemblement émouvant pour le jour du Souvenir pour l'école, d'après l'histoire des soldats canadiens qui sont morts pendant la campagne militaire en Afghanistan. Les élèves ont communiqué avec des amis et des membres de la famille des soldats, puis ont créé une présentation multimédia sur ce qu'ils avaient appris.
  • Chaque année M. Dougherty dirige la préparation et la production d'un spectacle musical étudiant qui engage des centaines d'étudiants, de membres du personnel et de bénévoles.
  • Il a conçu un « camp d'entraînement » pour les élèves de 9e année; un environnement spécial dans lequel ils peuvent se familiariser avec le chant, le théâtre et la danse devant leurs camarades. Les élèves consignent leurs expériences dans des journaux et produisent des créations comme des collages  pour répondre aux questions créatives de M. Dougherty.
  • M. Dougherty a créé un fan-club Star Wars, qui est finalement devenu le club le plus populaire de l'école. En plus d'en apprendre sur la création du film, l'art de conter et l'art de jouer un rôle, les membres du club amassent des sommes substantielles pour les organisations de bienfaisance, et, en collaboration avec les entreprises locales, ils organisent des concours visant à encourager la créativité des élèves.

Commentaires élogieux

« Par ses classes et plusieurs projets et clubs qu'il dirige, il a donné un sentiment d'appartenance aux enfants, améliorant ainsi leur confiance et leur estime de soi. » –  Un ancien élève

« Il a donné des cheveux blancs à son directeur. Comment accommoder tout cet intérêt [pour les cours de M. Dougherty]? Il fallait souvent diviser des cours censés durer toute l'année en trimestres, pour permettre une plus grande participation. Les idées et les nouvelles orientations ne manquaient jamais, mais, heureusement, il a été patient avec moi pendant que je tentais par tous les moyens d'augmenter le budget. » – Un ancien directeur