Archived—Neil Stephenson

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2009 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Calgary Science School
5915 Lewis Drive S.W.
Calgary AB T3E 5Z4

Principal: Darrell Lonsberry
School Tel.: 403-282-2890
School Fax: 403-282-2896
School Email: Darrell.L@calgaryscienceschool.com
School Website: www.calgaryscienceschool.com

Subjects and Grades Taught: Humanities in Grade 7

Neil Stephenson may seem like a fish out of water, since he teaches the humanities at a science-focussed school. However, students, parents and colleagues alike see his innovative and inquiry-based teaching as a great fit for the publicly funded charter school. Students must demonstrate that they can apply their knowledge, collecting relevant historical facts from images and primary source documents and interpreting them. Their work must also stand up to the scrutiny of peers, parents and experts, and students must be able to defend their choices with reasoned arguments.

Teaching Approach

Over the school year, Neil Stephenson immerses his students in Canada's past in a way that is both memorable and intellectually engaging. They struggle with conflicting interpretations and varying levels of accuracy offered by the source materials for the study of history. Then they present the results of their study in texts, audio presentations, film and graphic design.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Inspired by a Canadian Museum of Civilization exhibit that challenged Canadians to learn about their history through old cigar boxes, Mr. Stephenson had his students construct virtual cigar box panels and produce three short documentaries on aspects of Canadian history. Students collaboratively research events, collect and document historical images and artifacts and then digitally assemble their own visual representation of significant times and events from Canada's past.
  • A key feature of Mr. Stephenson's assessment of his students' work is having them reflect on its meaning and their intent in making it. As part of the cigar box project, for example, he had students record a podcast self-assessment in which students explained the key message(s) reflected in their panels and the significance of the images they used. Previously, students did this work on paper, but the podcast has enhanced the process, allowing them to use inflection and emotion to communicate.
  • Students also use technology to seek feedback on their work, and Mr. Stephenson connects them to experts and professionals, such as museum curators, to enhance their learning.

Rave Reviews

"[Our son] looks forward to each new unit that they take. He talks about Canadian history a lot at home and frankly he knows much more about it than I do. He says that Mr. Stephenson teaches history in a way that is fun and inspires you to learn more." Parent

"It has been a rare privilege to work with Neil Stephenson, a new teacher who is already making such a remarkable impact on student learning, curriculum and professional development and the teaching profession. After 12 years as a teacher educator and educational technology researcher, I have come across very few teachers who match Neil's enthusiasm and commitment." University professor

Archivé — Neil Stephenson

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2009 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Calgary Science School
5915, promenade Lewis Sud-Ouest
Calgary (Alberta)  T3E 5Z4

Directeur : Darrell Lonsberry
Tél. de l'école : 403-282-2890
Télec. de l'école : 403-282-2896
Courriel de l'école : Darrell.L@calgaryscienceschool.com
Site Web de l'école : www.calgaryscienceschool.com (en anglais seulement)

Années et matières : humanités en 7e année

Neil Stephenson peut sembler hors de son élément en enseignant les humanités dans une école orientée vers les sciences. Cependant, les étudiants, les parents et les collègues sont unanimes à constater qu'il innove dans son enseignement en le basant sur la demande de renseignements et que sa formule s'insère très bien dans cette école à charte financée à même les fonds publics Les élèves doivent démontrer qu'ils peuvent appliquer les connaissances acquises et recueillir des faits historiques pertinents à partir d'images et de documents de source primaire et les interpréter. Leur travail doit également résister à l'examen des pairs, des parents et des experts, et les élèves doivent défendre leurs choix par une argumentation motivée.

Méthode d'enseignement

Durant l'année scolaire, Neil Stephenson plonge ses élèves dans le passé du Canada de façon à la fois mémorable et stimulante intellectuellement. Ils doivent naviguer autour d'interprétations conflictuelles et à des niveaux variés de véracité offerts par les documents source pour l'étude de l'histoire. Puis ils présentent les résultats de leur étude dans des textes, des présentations audio, des films et du design graphique.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Monsieur Stephenson a été inspiré par une exposition du Musée canadien des civilisations qui invitait les Canadiens à apprendre leur histoire nationale au moyen de vieilles boîtes de cigares. Le professeur a donc fait construire à ses élèves des panneaux virtuels de boîtes de cigares et a produit trois courts documentaires sur des aspects de l'histoire canadienne. Les élèves se sont regroupés pour se documenter sur les événements, trouver et identifier des images et des artefacts historiques, puis ils ont assemblé numériquement leurs propres représentations visuelles d'époques et d'événements significatifs tirés du passé du Canada.
  • Un élément clé de l'évaluation des travaux des élèves, faite par monsieur Stephenson, c'est de les faire réfléchir sur la signification de leurs travaux et qu'elles étaient leurs intentions au moment où ils ont fait le travail. Dans le projet des boîtes de cigares, par exemple, les élèves ont enregistré en balado leur auto-évaluation dans laquelle ils expliquaient les messages clés transmis par leurs panneaux et la signification des images utilisées. Au préalable, les élèves avaient fait ce travail sur papier, mais le balado avait facilité le processus, leur permettant d'utiliser des inflexions de voix et de l'émotion pour communiquer.
  • Les élèves utilisent également la technologie pour obtenir une rétroaction concernant leur travail, et monsieur Stephenson leur fait rencontrer des experts et des professionnels, comme les conservateurs des musées, pour stimuler leur apprentissage.

Commentaires élogieux

« [Notre fils]  est toujours heureux de commencer une nouvelle unité. Il parle beaucoup de l'histoire du Canada à la maison et, franchement, il en connaît plus que moi sur ce sujet. Il dit que monsieur Stephenson enseigne l'histoire d'une façon amusante qui le stimule à apprendre encore plus. » – Parent

« C'est un privilège de travailler avec Neil Stephenson, un nouveau professeur qui a déjà une influence remarquable sur l'apprentissage des élèves, le programme, le développement professionnel et la profession d'enseignant. Après douze ans comme éducateur des enseignants et chercheur en technologie éducative, j'ai rencontré peu d'enseignants possédant l'enthousiasme et l'engagement de Neil. » – Professeur d'université