Archived—Kathryn Walmsley

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2009 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Elizabeth School
PO Box 68
Cold Lake AB T9M 1P1

Principal: David Anger
School Tel.: 780-594-2017
School Fax: 780-594-3111
School Email: david.anger@northland61.ab.ca

Subjects and Grades Taught: Grade 3

Elizabeth School is a small school located on the Elizabeth Métis Settlement in northern Alberta. Kathryn Walmsley's challenge is not just to teach her students but also to impart an appreciation of the value of education in the community. Many of the parents in the community had unhappy experiences with an education system that seemed to offer little to them. Ms. Walmsley works to ensure that this not the case for their children.

Teaching Approach

Students arrive at Elizabeth School at the start of their educational careers with very few school-readiness skills. Ms. Walmsley identifies students' learning styles and implements a fun and active curriculum, characterized by hands-on learning in a positive and supportive environment.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Ms. Walmslely believes that children must have a parent supporting their education. If they do not, they will be left to their own devices to make decisions about attendance and work ethic. Ms. Walmsley has a strategy to enlist parents, a communication routine for keeping them in touch, and tools and ideas to equip them to help their children. Parent volunteers, who were non-existent just a few years ago, are now a part of life at Elizabeth School, and the idea of volunteering in such a way has spread throughout the community.
  • Ms. Walmsley brought the Read Write Gold software package to the school to help students improve their literacy skills. Knowing that this technology would help her students, she traveled across the province to be trained on the program and then brought it back and trained other staff in its use.
  • She extended the Science Fair to include Grade 3 students and helped students pick topics and prepare projects that would help them meet learning outcomes for their grade level.
  • Ms. Walmsley helps students develop emotional skills such as empathy. She even brings her dog into the classroom, since Nana provides a patient and willing subject for students who are practicing their nurturing and caring skills. Nana's presence in the class helped Ms. Walmsley overcome another challenge: poor attendance on Fridays. Now that students know that that's the day Nana comes to school, many more of them come, too.

Rave Reviews

"I sometimes come and volunteer in the classroom and I can see how much her students love her. She makes everything fun and easy to learn. …I'm so happy that [my daughter's] first experience in school has had such a great impact on her learning ability. She has come out of her shell and I know that Mrs.Walmsley has had so much to do with that." Parent

"As the leader at the school, I am extremely appreciative of the impact that Kathryn has had on the success of our students. She leads her peers by example and she has been able to foster a love of learning in her students." Principal

Archivé — Kathryn Walmsley

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2009 – Province : Alberta

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Elizabeth School
Case postale 68
Cold Lake (Alberta)  T9M 1P1

Directeur : David Anger
Tél. de l'école : 780-594-2017
Télec. de l'école : 780-594-3111
Courriel de l'école : david.anger@northland61.ab.ca

Années et matières : 3e année

L'école Elizabeth est une petite école située dans l'établissement métis d'Elizabeth dans le nord de l'Alberta. Le défi de Kathryn Walmsley ne consiste pas seulement à enseigner à ses élèves, mais à leur faire apprécier la valeur de l'éducation dans la communauté. De nombreux parents de cette communauté ont vécu des expériences malheureuses dans un système d'éducation qui semblait leur offrir bien peu. Madame Walmsley s'assure que ses élèves ne fassent pas la même expérience.

Méthode d'enseignement

À leur arrivée à l'école Elizabeth, les élèves sont au début de leur apprentissage éducatif et possèdent très peu de compétences scolaires. Madame Walmsley repère le style d'apprentissage de ses élèves et met en application un programme amusant et actif, caractérisé par un apprentissage pratique dans un environnement positif et favorable.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Madame Walmslely croit que les enfants doivent avoir des parents qui appuient leur éducation. Sinon, l'enfant sera laissé à lui-même pour décider de sa présence en classe et de son éthique de travail. Madame Walmslely possède une stratégie pour impliquer les parents, une façon de communiquer pour garder le contact et des outils et des idées pour leur aider à aider leurs enfants. Le bénévolat des parents, qui n'existait pas il y a quelques années, fait maintenant partie de la vie de l'école Elizabeth et cette idée de bénévolat s'est répandue dans toute la communauté.
  • Madame Walmsley a apporté à l'école le logiciel Read Write Gold pour aider les élèves à améliorer leurs aptitudes en alphabétisme. Sachant que cette technologie aiderait ses élèves, elle a traversé la province pour recevoir une formation lui permettant d'utiliser le programme et elle a ensuite formé le personnel pour qu'il l'utilise.
  • Elle a inclus les élèves de 3e année dans l'Exposition scientifique et les a aidés à choisir les sujets et à préparer les projets qui les aideraient à acquérir des connaissances à leur niveau.
  • Madame Walmsley aide les élèves à acquérir une aptitude à l'émotion, comme par exemple l'empathie. Elle emmène son chien dans la salle de classe, car Nana est patiente et se laisse faire par les élèves qui pratiquent avec elle leur capacité à prendre soin et à s'en occuper. La présence de Nana en classe a contribué à relever un autre défi : l'absentéisme du vendredi. Maintenant que les élèves savent que c'est le jour de la visite de Nana en classe, eux aussi sont présents.

Commentaires élogieux

« Je viens parfois faire du bénévolat dans la salle de classe et je peux constater à quel point ses élèves l'aiment. Elle rend le programme amusant et facile à apprendre…Je suis si heureuse que la première expérience de [ma fille] à l'école ait eu un tel effet sur sa capacité à apprendre. Elle est sortie de sa coquille et je sais que madame Walmsley y est pour beaucoup. » – Parent

« Comme chef de file de cette école, j'apprécie beaucoup le rôle de Kathryn dans le succès de nos élèves. Elle prêche par l'exemple auprès de ses pairs et elle a transmis à ses élèves l'amour de la connaissance. » – Directeur