Archived—Patricia Shields

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2009 – Province: Prince Edward Island

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Charlottetown Rural High School
100 Raiders Road
Charlottetown PE C1E 1K6

Principal: Susan Willis
School Tel.: 902-368-6905
School Fax: 902-368-6906
School Email: ptshields@edu.pe.ca

Subjects and Grades Taught: Grade 10 science and Grade 12 biology

Patricia Shields, who has been teaching since 1996, has long been a leader in the integration of information and communications technology in the classroom in Prince Edward Island. She has consistently enabled her students to learn new technology skills that have enhanced their learning opportunities and shared her knowledge and experience with fellow teachers. Her recognition of the power of technology to enhance student learning inspired her to get her Master's in education from Acadia, with a focus on technology and curriculum.

Teaching Approach

Ms. Shields is a firm believer in using technology to create collaborative learning opportunities so students can develop critical-thinking, interpersonal, problem-solving and organizational skills. She also makes opportunities to use technology to give students a voice on issues (through online forums) and learn about proper and safe online practices.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Ms. Shields conducted a successful trial and then sought out a grant to buy an audience-response system to use in her classroom. She is the first public school teacher in P.E.I. to do so. The audience response system consists of handheld transmitters ("clickers") that send wireless signals to a central receiver and computer. Ms. Shields poses multiple-choice questions and the results are tabulated immediately by the central computer and displayed as a graph. This technology enables her to conduct real-time formative assessments of student learning, and allows students to test their understanding with no fear of embarrassment.
  • She uses student-constructed case studies as a teaching tool. Students research a human disorder and then create a hypothetical patient and case study for fellow students to study. This collaborative learning project requires students to do research and employ critical thinking. They must then use their communication skills to share what they have learned with their peers.
  • Ms. Shields is a member of a school development team whose responsibilities include creating a study skills set for the entire student body. She contributed to this effort by developing a module on note-taking methods, skills and strategies.

Rave Reviews

"Above all else, Ms. Patricia Shields is a quality classroom teacher. She is highly credible and very creative in all she does. Her love of her job and caring manner is very evident in her work with young people. She has been most successful in the integration of the use of technology in the various science courses she has taught." Colleague

"When I first began Grade 10, I assumed all classes were like hers. I was wrong." Student

Archivé — Patricia Shields

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2009 – Province : Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École secondaire Charlottetown Rural
100, chemin Raiders
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) C1E 1K6

Directrice : Susan Willis
Tél. de l'école : 902-368-6905
Télec. de l'école : 902-368-6906
Courriel de l'école : ptshields@edu.pe.ca

Années et matières : sciences (10e année) et biologie (12e année)

Patricia Shields, qui enseigne depuis 1996, est depuis longtemps chef de file de l'intégration des technologies de l'information et des communications dans la classe, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle permet toujours à ses élèves de développer de nouvelles aptitudes en matière de technologie qui leur offrent des débouchés d'apprentissage. Elle partage ses connaissances et son expérience avec ses collègues enseignants. Sa reconnaissance de la puissance de la technologie comme outil pour pousser l'apprentissage de ses élèves l'a incitée à faire une maîtrise en enseignement à l'université Acadia, ses travaux portant sur la technologie et le curriculum.

Méthode d'enseignement

Madame Shields croit fermement en l'utilisation de la technologie pour créer des occasions d'apprentissage en collaboration, de façon à ce que les élèves développent leur pensée critique et leurs aptitudes interpersonnelles, organisationnelles et en matière de résolution de problèmes. Elle trouve aussi des occasions d'utiliser la technologie pour donner une voix à ses élèves sur des questions populaires (par l'entremise de forums en ligne) et leur montrer les pratiques adéquates et sûres à observer en ligne.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Madame Shields a effectué un essai concluant d'un système de réponse de l'auditoire puis a fait une demande de subvention pour en acheter un pour sa classe. Elle est la première enseignante d'une école publique de la province à le faire. Ce système est composé d'émetteurs portatifs (« cliqueurs ») qui envoient un signal à un récepteur-ordinateur central. Madame Shields pose des questions à choix multiples et les résultats sont immédiatement calculés par l'ordinateur central et affichés sous forme graphique. Cette technologie lui permet de faire une évaluation formative en temps réel de l'apprentissage de ses élèves et permet aux élèves de vérifier leur compréhension sans avoir peur de faire des erreurs.
  • Elle utilise des études de cas crées par ses élèves comme outil d'enseignement. Les élèves font des recherches sur un trouble de l'humain, puis créent un patient hypothétique et une étude de cas qui est ensuite soumise aux autres élèves. Ce projet d'apprentissage en collaboration fait faire de la recherche aux élèves et développe leur pensée critique. Ils doivent ensuite utiliser leurs aptitudes en matière de communication pour partager ce qu'ils ont appris avec les autres élèves.
  • Madame Shields est membre d'une équipe de développement de l'école dont le mandat consiste, entre autres, à créer un ensemble de techniques d'étude pour l'ensemble des élèves. Elle a participé à cet effort en créant un module sur les méthodes, techniques et stratégies de prise de notes.

Commentaires élogieux

« Par-dessus tout, Madame Patricia Shields est une enseignante de qualité. Elle est particulièrement crédible et très créative dans tout ce qu'elle entreprend. Son amour pour ce qu'elle fait et son attention sont évidents dans son travail auprès des jeunes. Elle a connu un succès retentissant dans l'intégration de la technologie dans les divers cours de sciences qu'elle a enseignés. » – Collègue

« Lorsque j'ai commencé ma 10e année, j'ai tenu pour acquis que tous mes cours seraient comme le sien. J'avais tort. » – Élève